default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Concert review: Fall Out Boy, "Save Rock and Roll" tour

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, September 17, 2013 12:16 am

Fall Out Boy came back Feb. 4, 2013 with the announcement of a new single, new album and new summer and fall tour.

Seven months after the announcement of the tours, they stopped in Auburn Hills, Mich. to play to a sold out crowd of about 6,000 fans with the help from twenty | one | pilots and Panic! At the Disco.

twenty | one | pilots kicked off the show by coming out on stage wearing skeleton masks. The duo, consisting of Tyler Joseph and Josh Dun, made their way onto the stage quietly before starting with “Ode to Sleep,” the first track off the album, “Vessel.”

After “Ode to Sleep” the duo jumped into their next song, “Migraine.” They took off the skeleton masks and Joseph danced around on stage for the three-minute song, jumping off his piano a couple of times.

Throughout the rest of their set [a total of six songs] the duo got the crowd hyped up for Panic! At the Disco. After their last song, “Guns for Hands,” their crew brought out two small drums. Then Joseph and Dun did a drum show for the crowd before the lights faded and they exited the stage.

It took half an hour for the set change before Panic! At the Disco walked out with black metallic women mannequins. Opening with “Time to Dance” [off of their debut album, “A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out”], frontman Brendon Urie bounced around on stage, dancing next to his band members. After playing another song off their debut album, the band transitioned into their newer songs. Two new songs off of their upcoming album, “Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die!” were performed at the show, much to the crowd’s surprise.

Throughout their set, different colored lights flashed along with every single song. The band’s name was flashed up on small screens next to touring guitarist Kenneth Harris on the left side of the stage. The band’s name was flashed like a deck of cards, with each of the letters having a different suit from cards next to the letter.

The lights and the colors from Panic! At the Disco’s new look is to represent their hometown Las Vegas again.

The band ended their 10-song set with the two time platinum hit, “I Write Sins Not Tragedies.”

It was another 45 minutes until Fall Out Boy came out on stage. At first a white sheet hid the band, but as soon as the first chord to “The Phoenix” [off of the newest album, “Save Rock and Roll”] was played, the sheet dropped and the arena went insane.

Fall Out Boy then transitioned into two songs from their sophomore album, “From Under the Cork Tree” before playing the platinum hit, “This Ain’t a Scene, It’s an Arms Race.” During the chorus, the lyrics flashed in white on a black screen behind the band.

Fall Out Boy played six more songs from their third and fourth albums [“Infinity on High” and “Save Rock and Roll” respectively] before jumping into a cover song.

The band played, “Hold On, We’re Going Home” before frontman Patrick Stump smoothly transitioned to “What a Catch, Donnie,” on the piano.

After two minutes of “What a Catch, Donnie,” there was a surprise for the fans. Urie walked out on stage in a white suit jacket. Urie came out to sing, “20 Dollar Nosebleed” with Fall Out Boy since the singer collaborated with Fall Out Boy on the song for the album, “Folie à Deux.”

After two minutes of “20 Dollar Nosebleed,” Fall Out Boy disappeared from the stage before reappearing in the middle of the arena.

It was there on the campfire stage that Fall Out Boy performed two songs acoustically, one of which was “Grand Theft Autumn/Where is Your Boy?”

While heading back to the stage, drummer Andy Hurley got to have his own drum solo since he was not involved in the other two songs. After the rest of the band appeared on the main stage, they played platinum song, “Dance, Dance.”

The band played three more songs before leaving the stage. Even though the lights were out, none of the crowd moved. Chants of “Fall Out Boy” filled the arena. After a minute of being gone, the band reappeared and performed “Save Rock and Roll” [from the newest album] and “Thnks fr th Mmrs.”

Finally the band ended their 90-minute set with “Saturday,” off the album, “Take This to Your Grave.” The song is the staple finale for the band and the crowd went wild, dancing and singing along.

Between the three bands, there was way more talent than the arena could hold. The crowd on the floor moved nonstop and each of the bands brought something unique to the show but they all worked together as a whole to create a memorable night for everybody.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.